site image


PO Box 1350, 1156 Bowman Road, Ste 200
| Mt. Pleasant, SC 29465
Tel: 843-881-3634
| Fax: 843-881-3659

NFDA Officer Elections

SCFDA President Perspective on the NFDA Elections

Dear SCFDA members,

Your Executive Board works extremely hard to make our association the best funeral directors association in the nation. All our executive officers were recently in Orlando, FL for the NFDA Leadership Conference. We had one of the largest, if not the largest, contingents of State participants at this conference. The leadership conference helps us to build relationships with other state associations by sharing and receiving ideas which makes all our associations better.

During the conference we were able to meet and listen to all the candidates for the upcoming NFDA Executive Board elections. While there are many well qualified candidates, the SCFDA Executive Board is endorsing the following individuals for NFDA Treasurer and NFDA President–Elect.

For NFDA Treasurer, your SCFDA Executive Committee endorses Christopher Payne Robinson CFSP, CCO with Robinson Funeral Homes in Easley, SC. Chris is a South Carolina Funeral Director with impeccable credentials and qualifications. He is a Past President of SCFDA and has also served our association as a member of the NFDA Policy Board. Chris is currently the NFDA Secretary and prior to that, served as an at–large member on the NFDA Executive Board. Not only is Chris one our own, but his vast experience in service to both SCFDA and NFDA makes him the most qualified and obvious choice to serve as the next NFDA Treasurer.

For NFDA President–Elect, your SCFDA Executive Committee endorses Douglas R. “Dutch” Nie II, CFSP, CCO with Nie Family Funeral Home & Cremation Services in Ann Arbor, MI. Dutch is a Past President of the Michigan Funeral Directors Association and for the past five years has served on the NFDA Board of Directors. Presently, he is serving as the NFDA Treasurer. His vast experience, both on the State and National levels, make him an excellent choice to continue as the next NFDA President–Elect.

The NFDA elections begin Monday, August 1 and end Sunday, August 14. In the end, it’s up to you to vote for who you think will best serve our National Association but PLEASE vote. YOUR VOTE MATTERS! The SCFDA is highly regarded on the national level and your participation in this election only bolsters that perception. You will also have the opportunity to vote on proposed NFDA By-Law changes (click here for more information.) 

Again, please make it a point to vote starting Monday, August 1 and let your voice be heard!

With kindest regards,
Dwayne W. Josey – SCFDA President

2022-2023 NFDA Officer Candidates

Officers on the NFDA Board of Directors will be elected by qualified NFDA members during an electronic election taking place August 1-14. Officers serve a one-year term that begins after the 2022 NFDA International Convention & Expo. The individual elected to the office of president-elect will automatically become president following the 2023 NFDA Convention.

The following individuals are candidates for officer positions:

Secretary Candidates

  • Linda Allan Earl, Allan & Ciuferi Funeral Home, Collinsville, Illinois
  • Daniel J. Ford, Alderson-Ford Funeral Home, Cheshire, Connecticut

Treasurer Candidates

  • Larnique L. Mickens, Heritage Mortuary Inc., Las Vegas, Nevada
  • Christopher Payne Robinson, Robinson Funeral Homes, Easley, SC - SCFDA Executive Committee Recommendation

President-elect Candidates

  • Nathan Morris, Morris Family Services & Haley McGinnis Funeral Home & Crematory, Owensboro, Kentucky
  • Douglas R. "Dutch" Nie II, Nie Family Funeral Home & Cremation Services, Ann Arbor, MI - SCFDA Executive Committee Recommendation 

Current NFDA President Randy Anderson, CFSP, CCO, will continue his service on the Board with a one-year term as immediate past president that commences at the end of the 2022 NFDA Convention. Also continuing their service on the Board of Directors are 2021-23 At-large Representatives Chris Christian, CFSP, CCO, and Beatrice Lewanduski-Lecesse.

Qualified member voters who have an email address on file with NFDA will receive their voting instructions and credentials by email on August 1. Additional information on the NFDA Officer elections can be found by clicking here.

Christopher P. Robinson, CFSP, CCO
Robinson Funeral Homes, Easley SC

Douglas R. "Dutch" Nie, CFSP, CCO, CMFP
Nie Family Funeral Home & Cremation Service, Ann Arbor MI

How will the election work?

Voting credentials and information about how to cast your ballot will be emailed to eligible voters by the time voting opens at 9 a.m. ET on August 1. The email will come from (check your spam or junk email folder if you do not see an email from Yes Elections).

Eligible voters who do not have an email address on file with NFDA will receive a postcard with voting credentials and instructions on how to cast a ballot.

  • Each firm member will receive two (2) votes for each election which must be cast by the primary contact for the firm listed in NFDA’s current membership records.
  • The primary contact for a firm member will be provided a vote as an individual member in addition to the two (2) votes he or she may cast on behalf of the firm.
  • Each individual member will receive one (1) vote for each election.

Eligible voters have until 5 p.m. ET on August 14 to cast a ballot. Each election shall be determined by a plurality vote. Results will be announced August 15.

© 2022 South Carolina Funeral Directors Assoc. All Rights Reserved. Funeral Home website by CFS & TA | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Accessibility